Glow : a novel / Jessica Maria Tuccelli.

Author
Tuccelli, Jessica Maria [Browse]
Format
Book
Language
English
Published/​Created
New York : Viking, c2012.
Description
324 p. ; 24 cm.

Details

Subject(s)
Library of Congress genre(s)
Summary note
" A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century. In the autumn of 1941, Amelia J. McGee, a young woman of Cherokee and Scotch-Irish descent, and an outspoken pamphleteer for the NAACP, hastily sends her daughter, Ella, alone on a bus home to Georgia in the middle of the night-a desperate action that is met with dire consequences when the child encounters two drifters and is left for dead on the side of the road. Ella awakens to find herself in the homestead of Willie Mae Cotton, a wise hoodoo practitioner and former slave, and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborn, tucked deep in the Takatoka forest. As Ella begins to heal, the legacies of her lineage are revealed. Glow transports us from Washington, D.C., on the brink of World War II to 1836 and into the mountain coves of Hopewell County, Georgia, full of ghosts both real and imagined. Illuminating the tragedy of human frailty, the power of friendship and hope, and the fiercest of all human bonds-mother love-this stunning debut will appeal to readers of both Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees and Amy Green's Bloodroot"-- Provided by publisher.
Action note
Committed to retain in perpetuity — ReCAP Shared Collection (HUL)
ISBN
  • 9780670023318
  • 0670023310
LCCN
^^2011037553
OCLC
733230606
RCP
H - S
Statement on language in description
Princeton University Library aims to describe library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...

Supplementary Information

Other versions