A history of the county of Oxford [electronic resource].

London : [Institute for Historical Research], [2003]-


Related name
Victoria history of the counties of England [More in this series]
Summary note
Vol. 1 is a part-volume covering aspects of the archaeology of the county, and the Oxfordshire Domesday Survey. Vol. 2 covers the religious houses of the county, including some early colleges of the University of Oxford. The volume also includes accounts aspects of social and economic history and the archaeology of the county. Vol. 3 provides an account of the University of Oxford: its history, buildings, colleges and halls. Vol. 4 details the political, economic, social and religious history of Oxford. Vol. 5 covers the 26 parishes of Bullingdon hundred, including Cowley, Cuddesdon and Iffley. Vol. 6 covers the parishes of the hundred of Ploughley, bordering Northamptonshire and Buckinghamshire in the north-east of the county. It includes an account of the town of Bicester. Vol. 7 gives accounts of the twelve parishes of these two hundreds in the southern part of the county. The volume includes accounts of the towns of Dorchester and Thame. Vol. 8 gives accounts of the fifteen parishes of these two hundreds in the east of the county, on the border with Buckinghamshire. Vol. 9 details the eleven parishes of Bloxham hundred, in the far north of the county. Vol. 10 gives an account of the ten parishes of Banbury hundred, including the town of Banbury itself. Vol. 11 contains the histories of nineteen parishes in the northern part of Wootton hundred, including Glympton, Heythrop, Rousham, Sandford St. Martin, the Astons, the Bartons, the Wortons, and the three Tews. Vol. 12 contains Victoria County History's account of the Borough of New Woodstock. Vol. 13 covers the area of the sixteen ancient parishes of Bampton hundred, in the west of the county, bordering onto Gloucestershire to the west and Berkshire to the south. Vol. 14 covers the west Oxfordshire market town of Witney and the rural townships of Crawley, Curbridge and Hailey, all of which formed a single parish until the late nineteenth century. Vol. 15 covers Carterton, Minster Lovell, and environs, totalling eight rural parishes in west Oxfordshire, between Burford and Witney.
  • Print version also has title: The Victoria history of the county of Oxford.
  • Mode of access: World Wide Web.
  • Title from volume list (viewed Aug. 24, 2012).
  • Offered as part of British history online, a resource compiled by the Institute of Historical Research.
Bibliographic references
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Original version
Original version: London : Published for University of London, Institute of Historical Research, by Oxford University Press, 1907- (The Victoria history of the counties of England)
  • v. 1. [without special title] / edited by L.F. Salzman. 1939
  • v. 2. [without special title] / edited by William Page. 1907
  • v. 3 [without special title] / edited by H.E. Salter and Mary D. Lobel. 1954
  • v. 4. The city of Oxford / edited by Alan Crossley. 1979
  • v. 5. Bullingdon hundred / edited by Mary D. Lobel. 1957
  • v. 6. Ploughley hundred / edited by Mary D. Lobel. 1959
  • v. 7. Dorchester and Thame hundreds / edited by Mary Lobel. 1962
  • v. 8. Lewknow and Pyrton hundreds / edited by Mary D. Lobel. 1964
  • v. 9. Bloxham hundred / edited by Mary D. Lobel and Alan Crossley. 1969
  • v. 12. Wootton hundred (south) including Woodstock / edited by Alan Crossley. 1990
  • v. 13 Bampton hundred, part one. 1996
  • v. 14. Brampton hundred, part two. 2004
  • v. 16. Carterton, Minster Lovell, and Environs. 2006
Other title(s)
  • Victoria county history. Oxfordshire
  • Victoria history of the county of Oxford.
  • British history online.
Statement on language in description
Princeton University Library aims to describe library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...
Other views
Staff view