Madrigals. Part 5, Il quinto libro de madrigali a cinque voci : (Venice, 1608) / Marco da Gagliano ; edited by Edmond Strainchamps.

Gagliano, Marco da, 1582-1643 [Browse]
Uniform title
Musical score
  • Middleton, Wisconsin : A-R Editions, Inc., [2021]
  • ©2021
1 score (xviii, 72 pages, 3 unnumbered pages of plates) : illustrations, facsimiles ; 31 cm.


Library of Congress genre(s)
  • monochrome rdacc
  • illustration facsimile rdaill
Summary note
"Marco da Gagliano's Quinto libro de madrigali a cinque voci was published in October 1608, a little less than two years after his previous book. It contains fourteen madrigals for five voices and one for seven, all composed by Gagliano. The poets represented include Giambattista Marino, Giovanbattista Strozzi, both the older and the younger, Cosimo Galletti, and Ottavio Rinuccini. The madrigals of book 5 are quite varied in their style and their treatment of text. Many are light and remarkably concise, like the canzonetta-influenced madrigals of the Quarto libro, and most often set text syllabically to shorter rhythmic values in motives that alternate between homophony (or near homophony) and polyphony, imitative or nonimitative. Some, however, set poetry very differently. A three-part setting of a Marino sonnet, for instance, is filled with virtuoso melisma, probably intended for the professional singers of the Medici court. Book 5 also includes a concertato madrigal for seven singers and basso continuo that bears the prescriptive direction "per cantare e sonare" (for voices and instruments) in the basso partbook. Although there is no notational indication of instruments, the basso part lacks text for several measures, and it is likely that it was performed with improvised chords on an instrument. The book also contains two threnodies for Count Cammillo della Gheradesca that are in a somber and more traditional polyphony and contrast with the rest of the book's contents." -- Provided by publisher.
  • For five voices (canto, quinto, alto, tenore, and basso); last madrigal for seven voices.
  • Includes introduction and critical report.
Bibliographic references
Includes bibliographical references.
Language note
Italian words (texts by various poets); also printed as text with English translations: pages xv-xviii.
Staff notation.
  • Vago, amoroso dio / Giovanbattista Strozzi the older
  • Qui rise, o Tirsi, e qui ver me rivolse / Giambattista Marino
  • Fuss'io pur degno, Amore / Giovanbattista Strozzi the younger
  • Care pupille amate
  • Sospir fugace e leve / Ottavio Rinuccini
  • Spera, infelice, spera / Cosimo Galletti
  • Fuggi tua speme, fuggi
  • Mori, mi dici, e mentre / Giambattista Marino
  • Hor ch'io t'ho dato 'l core
  • Felicissimo fiore
  • Se già ritrosa mi fuggisti e schiva
  • Su la sponda del Tebro humida herbosa / Giambattista Marino
  • Vattene o felic'alma
  • Seccassi, giunta a sera, in un momento
  • Altri, di beltà vaga.
Other title(s)
Quinto libro de madrigali a cinque voci
  • 9781987206739 (print)
  • 1987206738 (print)
Publisher no.
Statement on language in description
Princeton University Library aims to describe library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...
Other views
Staff view

Supplementary Information