Painting Myanmar's transition / edited by Ian Holliday, Aung Kaung Myat.

Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, [2021]
vii, 186 pages : illustrations (colour) ; 26 cm


Summary note
"In Painting Myanmar's Transition, Ian Holliday and Aung Kaung Myat showcase work produced by local artists during a period of significant reform. In the 2010s, Myanmar moved away from half a century of rigid military rule and a wave of liberalization spread across the country. Artists eagerly embraced the new freedoms and, in so doing, captured their nation at a time of considerable fluidity. This book presents paintings by, and concise companion interviews with, eighty artists. Collectively, the paintings from the 2010s and the interviews from 2020 reveal the lived experience of Myanmar's reform years and the aspirations expressed by citizens for the future. They assume an almost elegiac quality in the aftermath of a 2021 military coup that brought the transition to a crashing halt and cast a dark cloud over the society. Placed alongside each other, the eighty paintings and the reflections of the artists who created them offer rare insights into a landmark decade in Myanmar. Together, they conjure a set of nuanced understandings of a pivotal Southeast Asian state navigating complex political change and building dreams that, in the event, were all too suddenly shattered" - Back cover.
Bibliographic references
Includes bibliographical references.
  • Artists born in post-war and democratic Burma (before 1962) : Sein Myint ; Aung Khaing ; Aung Myint ; San Minn ; Myint Soe ; MPP Ye Myint ; Chan Aye ; Nyo Win Maung ; Htun Wei Myint ; Han Tin Swe ; Maung Myint Aung ; Shine Lu ; Ko Ko Naing ; Zaw Win Pe ; Ba Khine ; Min Wae Aung ; Yi Yi Khin ; Soe Naing
  • Artists born under the Revolutionary Council (1962
  • 1973) : Co Thiee ; Thu Rein Myaing ; Su Eaindra ; Sue Htet Aung ; Myint San Myint ; Than Naing ; Htein Lin ; Win Tint ; Satt Aung ; Myo Nyunt Khin ; Thet Tun ; Khin Maung Zaw ; Aung Soe Min ; Kay Moe Ko ; Sandar Khaing ; Hein Thit ; Min Zaw ; Hla Pa ; Zarni Ye Myint ; Nay Aung Shu ; Aung Myat Htay
  • Artists born under President Ne Win (1974
  • 1981) : Khin Maung Win ; Kyaw Yin ; Tamalar ; Htoo Aung Kyaw ; Than Kyaw Htay ; Aung Ko ; Ko Naung ; Saw Star ; Zaw Min Thein ; Mor Mor ; Yan Naing Tun ; Yan Naing Oo ; Thit Nay San ; Aung Kyi Soe ; Aung Zaw ; Khin Zaw Latt ; Hla Phone ; Aung Ko ; Saw Kyaw Zaw ; Nan Da ; Pyayt Phyo Aung ; Pho Tun ; Brang Li ; Shwe Thein
  • Artists born during the decline and fall of Socialist Burma (after 1981) : Kaung Kyaw Khine ; Saw Lin Aung ; Dawei Lay ; Pyay Way ; Thadi Htar ; Sitt Moe Aung ; Zwe Yan Naing ; Myat Hteik Tin ; Maw Thu Da Nu ; Ye Aung Myat ; Nilar Tun ; Myo Pya ; Min Kyaw Swar ; Ye Min ; Maung Khine Mar ; Zwe Mon ; Aung Htet Lwin.
  • 9789888528677 ((hbk.))
  • 988852867X ((hbk.))
Statement on language in description
Princeton University Library aims to describe library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...
Other views
Staff view

Supplementary Information