The boat people : a novel / Sharon Bala.

Author
Bala, Sharon [Browse]
Format
Book
Language
English
Εdition
First edition.
Published/​Created
  • New York : Doubleday, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, [2018]
  • ©2018
Description
338 pages ; 25 cm

Details

Subject(s)
Library of Congress genre(s)
Fiction [Browse]
Summary note
  • "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- Provided by publisher.
  • "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN
  • 9780385542296 ((hardcover))
  • 0385542291 ((hardcover))
  • 9780525432463 ((softcover))
  • 0525432469 ((softcover))
LCCN
2017020049
OCLC
983346780
Statement on language in description
Princeton University Library aims to describe library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...
Other views
Staff view

Supplementary Information

Other versions