Il secondo libro de madregali a cinque voci / di Giaches de Wert.

Wert, Giaches de, 1535-1596 [Browse]
Uniform title
Musical score
Novamente con nova giunta ristampati.
In Venetia : Appresso di Antonio Gardano, 1564.
5 part books ; 16 x 22 cm, oblong 4to


Madrigals, Italian [Browse]
Former owner
Library of Congress genre
4to rdabf
  • Collection of madrigals for five voices (SATB5), mostly with a seconda parte, followed by one madrigal ("Accend' i cor") for six voices, and one madrigal ("Trionfo d'Amore") for 7 voices, as indicated in the titles.
  • The quinto part book also contains the sesto parte (in tenor clef) of no. 15 on pp. 25 and 27 and the settima parte (in alto clef) of no. 16 on pp. 29, 31, 33, 35, and 37 (the corresponding sesto parte is in the basso part book).
  • Table of contents (“Tavola Delli Madrigali”), including titles of the second and third parts of the madrigals, in alphabetical order at the end of each partbook.
  • Title from the canto part book title page.
  • Dedication in Italian by "Giaches de Vuert" to "Ottavio Farnese, Duca di Parma & Piacenza" on the title page verso of each part book.
  • Princeton copy 1: Imperfect: canto, alto, and quinto part books only, wanting the tenore and basso part books; the alto part book lacks the final page with the table of contents.
  • Princeton copy 1: canto (16 leaves); alto (15 leaves; leaf 16 missing); quinto (20 leaves); original foliation: canto: [i-ii]. 1-29, [30]; alto: [i-ii], 1-29, [p. 30 missing]; quinto: [i-ii]. 1-37, [38]
  • Music treasures at Princeton
Language note
Italian words.
Staff notation.
L'alba cui dolci (seconda parte: Almo pastor) -- Gionto m'ha amor (seconda parte: Nulla posso levar) -- Far potess'io vendetta (seconda parte: L'alma cui morte)-- Dura legge d'amor (seconda parte: So come sta tra fior) -- Voi ch'ascoltate (seconda parte: Ma ben veggi'hor) -- I'vo piangendo (seconda parte: Si che s'io viss'in guerra) -- Qual dopoi giorni -- Lasso che mal accorto (seconda parte: Da hora'innanzi) -- Amor io fallo (seconda parte: Pero s'oltra suo stil) -- Quand' io mi volg'indietro (seconda parte: Io mi riscuoto)-- Cantai hor piango (seconda parte: Tengan dunque ver me) -- Superbi colli (seconda parte: Cosi se ben col tempo) -- Si e debil'il filo -- La verginella (seconda parte: Ma non si tosto [a 4]; tertia parte: Sia vil a gl'altri) -- Accend' i cor (a 6) (seconda parte: Che nel mezzo) -- Trionfo d'Amore (dialogo a 7): Nel tempo che rinova (seconda parte: Vago d'udir).
Princeton copy 1: Stamp on rear fly leaf of quinto part book: "Provenant de la collection musicale d'André Meyer, décédé en Mai 1974, F. Meyer Octobre 84"
Other format(s)
Also available in an electronic version.
Place name(s)
Italy Venice
Statement on Language in Description
Princeton University Library aims to describe Library materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. Read more...
Other views
Staff view

Supplementary Information